From 0 to 1500 hits in one day – no link building or spamming involved

9 Nov

Before I go on, I have to say that this was just an experiment, and I didn’t plan to have even half the amount of hits. But here’s how I achieved this.

I also have to state that I didn’t use sponsored ads, spam, social bookmarking, blog and forum commenting or any link building techniques whatsoever. I hardly even wrote my own content. So how did I do this?

First of all, there was an element of luck involved.

If you’re from Britain, I’m sure you all know what The Only Way is Essex is. If you’re from USA, it’s almost a carbon copy of Jersey Shore. A documentary/soap, following the lives of attractive young people as they party and do all the other things young attractive people do.

The cast of this show are either loved or hated – nothing in between. Everyone seems to have an opinion on these people.

Also if you’re from Britain, I’m pretty sure you’ll know who Joey Barton is. If you don’t, he’s an outspoken football (soccer) player who’s well known for getting himself into trouble on and off the field. Like the Essex lot, you wont find many people without an opinion on him.

As you all know, it’s very popular for celebrities to tweet about things these days, and it’s not uncommon for a few arguments to pop up. Last night, after a Call of Duty party in London, the Essex guys and Joey Barton had a massive fall out.

Luckily, I was still up working so I took an interest to this war of words. After a while, I decided to see if there was anything on line about it. Usually, the tabloid newspapers would have been all over it, but because of the time (3am), there was nothing available for people to read.

I decided to write a blog post on an old blog, Carbonara on Tap. The post was entitled Joey Barton vs Mark Wright, Joey Essex and Arg (TOWIE).

I thought it important to use the names of the people involved in the title, as well as TOWIE (The only way is Essex), as that’s what people will mostly be searching for. I then went to bed, and when I woke up this morning, I was shocked at how many people had visited.

This carried on throughout the day and as we speak, there have been 1609 hits in less than one day. I wasn’t expecting half this many visitors.

I was even more surprised when I saw that over 200 of the hits came from Facebook, where I don’t even have an account! Google referred 963 with a huge list of keywords, all relevant to the argument.

Obviously this kind of thing doesn’t happen every day, but in future I’ll be alert to see if anything kicks off on Twitter in the future. I’m sure there will be many more opportunities to exploit current goings on in the Twitter universe.

Below are a few images of the daily stats of my blog. It had 9  views in total before yesterday.

 

Leave a Reply

